U.S. Denies Lebanon, Other Nations to be Added to New Travel Ban

Bookmark this
February 08, 2017

The United States has denied reports claiming that seven countries including Lebanon will soon be added to a new travel ban list.

An Executive Order recently signed by U.S. President Donald Trump had imposed a 90-day pause on the entry into the United States of nationals from Iraq, Syria, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya, and Yemen.

A statement issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security has emphasized that "these seven countries are the only countries to which the pause on entry applies."

"No other countries face such treatment. Nor have any other countries been identified as warranting future inclusion at this time, contrary to false reports," the statement said.

A pro-Trump website had claimed that seven new countries, including Lebanon, could be added to a list of countries where travelers are banned from traveling to the United States.

The alleged list mentioned Egypt, Afghanistan, Colombia, Pakistan, Venezuela, the Philippines and Lebanon.

The sources had clarified that the reports still need to be officially confirmed.


Trump's order last week sparked protests nationwide and confusion at airports as some travelers were detained. The White House has argued that it will make the country safer.

A U.S. judge on Friday imposed a nationwide hold on Trump's ban on travelers and immigrants, siding with two states that had challenged the executive order that has launched legal battles across the country.

Source: Agence France Presse, Associated Press, Naharnet

Lebanon Weddings
"Lebanon's Leading Wedding Directory"


Recent Articles

Bank of Beirut Internship

Bank of Beirut Internship

in Community News

CALLING ALL 3rd Year UNI STUDENTS; Work experience with the Bank of Beirut, Lebanon. This is initiated by the World Patriarchal Maronite Foundation for Integral Development and Bank of Beirut, in cooperation with Western Sydney University (WSU).

May 31, 2019

عودة لبنان الى قائمة الفاتيكان للحج الديني

عودة لبنان الى قائمة الفاتيكان للحج الديني

in World News, Local News, Church News

زار وفد من الوكالة الفاتيكانية للسياحة الدينية بيروت لدفع الترتيبات الخاصة بعودة الوكالة إلى لبنان وادراجه في لائحة دول السياحة الدينية بعد انقطاع امتد لسنوات

February 7, 2019 By AL-MOHAJER

Salameh: Money Transfer Firms Must Not Pay in Dollar to Recipients

Salameh: Money Transfer Firms Must Not Pay in Dollar to Recipients

in Local News

Central Bank Governor Riad Salameh on Monday called on all money transfer companies operating in Lebanon, such as Western Union and OMT, to exclusively use Lebanese currency when dispensing foreign cash transfers to recipients.

January 15, 2019

Israeli Museum under Fire over 'McJesus' Exhibit

Israeli Museum under Fire over 'McJesus' Exhibit

in World News

A fast-food clown nailed to a cross has united its Finnish creator with Holy Land Christians demanding the artwork's removal from an exhibition at an Israeli museum.

January 15, 2019